Christmas Traditions

25 12 2007

20071225christmas17.jpg

My family has had traditions for Christmas ever since I was small. A lot of the traditions would be food related. Christmas Eve we would dress up and have Julgrött for breakfast with pumpkin bread and orange juice at 9:00. Lunch would be pizza cuz we like it and it’s easy. Christmas Day breakfast would be the same as the previous day concerning attire, food and time. No one was allowed to leave the table until everyone finished. Luke 2 would be read and as I would distribute the presents a MoTab Christmas video would be playing in the background. One by one we would take a turn to open our presents going in a clockwise direction. Then we would see what everyone got. Occasionally we would give gag gifts. One of the grandest gag gifts that I ever received was from Katherine. The idea came from a trip to Cleveland with some of us packed into a minivan for a YSA Christmas party. My hands were dry, and I asked if anybody had lotion. Tara was the only person who had some but it was “smelly lotion.” That’s okey, I can handle smelly lotion. It was Sweet Pea Lotion by Bath and Body Works. It felt good to my epidermis. After dinner we played the “what if…” game. I never heard the end of the lotion jokes. It was hilarious. Anyways, that’s the gag gift I got from Katherine, a big bottle of Sweet Pea lotion.

Shaun joined in this year with some gag gifts by giving an empty tape dispenser and a little bag of chips. He cracked himself up. Emma bought everyone a bottle of hand sanitizer since it is London afterall. My mom would for some reason like to count how many each of us got. Since we all didn’t have school we would end up watching movies together. A couple of movies we watch probably every year would be “Holiday Inn” and “White Christmas”. One of the movies that Shaun would see every year is “Christmas Vacation.” Another tradition would be going for a long walk before dinner. Sometimes we would make snowmen, campfires or even one year we made a huge igloo and slept in it.What kind of cool Christmas traditions do you have?